Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

NEW here Need a little help. Bringing it back to life
Page: 1, 2, 3  Next
Forum Index -> Bay Window Bus Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
coppercutlass
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sun Oct 23, 2016 3:23 pm    Post subject: NEW here Need a little help. Bringing it back to life Reply with quote

Im helping my brother in law with his 73 bus. Im not a stranger to turning wrenches. Im a body man by trade and i have been building my own high performance engines , transissions and diffs for my 1972 cutlass i drag race for the better part of over a decade . I do on occasion build stuff for other people.

This bus has sat for about 6 years or so. It did run prior to being parked., We hooked up a battery to see if we could check for spark but the starter is dead in the water. I didnt bring enough tools so we will check for power now that i have a list of what tools to bring for next time. Looks like it has the weber manifold conversion and carb. On the engine end it sees like i got the work cut out for me with the starter , cleaning the carb , having the tank boiled and re sealed and just an over all general tune up. For now to goal is just to get it running. He has a spare 2000 cc engine which i plan on re building for him with just a little more oomph .

First issue i saw was brake lights come on when the brake is off and come off when pressed . Do they work off a pressure switch ???

Im totally green with old vw's so i dont know the ins and outs. But im not new to wrenching so im sure with some good advice we should be in business. Is there anything i should look out for ?? Common issues ? Any advice is greatly appreciated .
John S.
Samba Member