Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Veteran assistance needed
Forum Index -> Off Topic Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
rockerarm
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sun Nov 06, 2016 1:18 pm    Post subject: Veteran assistance needed Reply with quote

Hi and thanks for clicking onto this. I don't spend time on other websites but here.
I'm looking for referrals, links, personal experience with an attorney who practices civil law in Calif. Prefer SoCal but not a big deal.
My issue is not directly veteran related, but I am a veteran, 20+ years, and is indirectly veteran related.
I receive e-mails from the Calif site www.calvet.ca.gov. Their e-mails list legal service clinics but may meet only 1x per month.
Personally, I cant afford a $500/hr attny, so here I am.
Thanks in advance, Bill.
Cali_Army_Guy
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sun Nov 06, 2016 3:17 pm    Post subject: Re: VETERAN ASSISTANCE NEEDED Reply with quote

VA website has a list of free legal clinics. Maybe try a couple of those?

https://www.va.gov/ogc/docs/LegalServices.pdf
rockerarm
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sun Nov 06, 2016 4:18 pm    Post subject: Re: VETERAN ASSISTANCE NEEDED Reply with quote

Thanks brother. I have not seen that website. Some of those local referrals I have attempted to use. The inner city law center seems to be putting their emphasis on the homeless vet issue in LA's skid row and the slum lord issue, which I wholeheartedly support, as I get their e-mails. The NLSLA is a referral towards the LA County self help centers. I will be there at 0730HRS tomorrow morning to address the basic paperwork out at the courthouse where this shit is happening. The self help centers cant give legal advice and assist with paperwork only. DAMN!!