Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Weber progressive adjustment issue - new to VWs
Forum Index -> Bay Window Bus Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
This page may contain links to eBay where the site receives compensation.
MikeyM73
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue Dec 06, 2016 8:58 pm    Post subject: Weber progressive adjustment issue - new to VWs Reply with quote

Hi all,

I am new to VW air cooled engines but not new to cars and was hoping some of you might be able to provide some insight into an odd issue I am having. I have been into and built cars for many years, hot rods mainly but they all pretty much function the same, right? And please excuse any mis-spoken VW nomenclature that I may happen to spew but I will pick it up. So..onto my issue, pretty please.

The wife unit and I just picked up a '73 Westy type 4 that had been sitting in a field untouched for 10 years. It needs basically everything... including seats. Long story short, it has been converted to a center mount Weber progressive (I have read the pluses and minuses - my intake tubes do get pretty darn warm) but the carb on it was old, dirty, and shot, so a friend lent me one of his (same thing - 32/36 DEFV?? - electric choke model) which ran perfectly a couple years ago on a 1600 type 1 motor. This carb was not exposed to elemets but it was in a box and could have very well been knocked around over the years... no idea. So we got it running, set the time to 30* ATDC at 3k RPMs after I finally got it to idle.