Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Harbor Freight 90 Amp Welder
Page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Forum Index -> Body/Paint Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
67ctbug
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri Dec 09, 2016 6:25 pm    Post subject: Harbor Freight 90 Amp Welder Reply with quote

I've been using this welder for a few months, and it's pretty bad. Has anyone used this? I'm looking for tips on how to not burn through on everything.
If I weld anything thinner than around 16 gauge it burns through Rolling Eyes Its bad...
'63 Ragtop
'73 914
'72 Dodge Wrecker
Go Cubs!
World Series Champions 2016
KentPS wrote:
...or the PO envied the terrorists' bus in "Back to the Future". Laughing

mukluk wrote:
He's fine, just waiting for the dragon in winklepickers to move out of his lane.
62DUBdude
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri Dec 09, 2016 6:38 pm    Post subject: Re: Harbor Freight 90 Amp Welder Reply with quote

Save this machine for slightly heavier tasks and try and get yourself a TIG welding unit. This is what you want for thin materials and low amp welding.
theKbStockpiler
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri Dec 09, 2016 7:35 pm    Post subject: Re: Harbor Freight 90 Amp Welder Reply with quote

You will have to manually pulse weld or attach a heat sink to it like a thick piece of metal behind it or copper. Also you can't weld "by" the amount of weld deposit. It's like TIG welding with out using filler rod.

If you reverse the polarity with it ,it will cool it way down but it causes a massive amount of spatter that you will have to clean up with a grinder. Laughing

For a introductory welder I would look into a Klutch or a Alpha.
67ctbug
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri Dec 09, 2016 7:42 pm    Post subject: Re: Harbor Freight 90 Amp Welder Reply with quote