Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Bradley GT redefining lines
Page: 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Forum Index -> Kit Car/Fiberglass Buggy/356 Replica Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
MNChief
Samba Member

PostPosted: Mon Jan 09, 2017 4:47 pm    Post subject: Bradley GT redefining lines Reply with quote

Hi guys, I'm new to the samba and the forum, but have really enjoyed what I have read and learned a lot from the posts and tech stuff. I Purchased a bradley basket case this fall (It really wasn't so bad, no side window/doors or back glass, broken windshield but otherwise complete) and my son and I are doing a build in the shop over the MN winter. As I read some posters opinions, they alluded to the Bradley GT as one of the ugliest kits ever formed, and I kinda agree. So we are redefining the lines of the Bradley to give it a more aggressive yet smoother look, and slightly updated. Very Happy I knew nothing about forming body panels from foam, but doing is learning. How does one go about transferring the shape from one side to another when on the Bradley there are no body lines to measure off? Other than that, I've made progress, moving the shifter to the rear 8 inches (short arms I guess) and the parking brake, filed the points, new electric fuel pump, and a condenser and it runs and drives good. It had wheel adapters for GM five bolt wheels, and about 20 coats of gray primer that lost its bond to the gel-coat, so lots of sanding. One of the big changes was the decision to build a roadster, removing the top completely. That changes the lines dramatically, and now its got an enclosed trunk. I formed the flares from spray foam in a can skinned in urethane body filler, and the panel shells are isocyanurate foam. I mocked up the shapes I wanted with the foam board, we have a commercia