Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Building my first engine 1776cc
Page: 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Forum Index -> Performance/Engines/Transmissions Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Vicgrcs
Samba Member

PostPosted: Thu Feb 16, 2017 7:34 pm    Post subject: Building my first engine 1776cc Reply with quote

Hello im new in the forum and its my first time building a aircooled engine, but im wondering what would be better for me... i don't want to make a dragster or smth, just wanna drive my car at 170 Kmh(joke) with air conditioning; this is what i have

CASE: MEXICAN AS41
OEM Germanian CRANKSHAFT 69MM
311b Connecting Rods
90.5mm Mahle Pistons
Stock Mexican Cylinder Heads, Stock Spring, Valves
CB Straight Cut Cam Gears
Scat Valve Lifters
Scat Spin-On Filter Oil Pump 32mm
Central Weber 40/40 idf

im still trying to know wich camshaft would be better a w100 or 110?
i hope someone could give me some advice or any recomendation either.

Thanks!
Danwvw
Samba Member

PostPosted: Thu Feb 16, 2017 10:26 pm    Post subject: Re: Building my first engine 1776cc Reply with quote

Sounds like a good start! Have you had the case opened to work with the large Piston & Cylinders? With IDF's you can run the W-110 Cam and raise the compression up to 8 or 8.5:1 The AC though I am not sure about it may be better off with the W-100 Cam and 8.0:1 compression with that AC. You will probably want 28 or 30 mm Venturi in those IDF's? Are you using Stock valve size Heads? Single High Rev Springs would be good.
FreeBug
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri Feb 17, 2017 8:46 am    Post subject: Re: Building my first engine 1776cc Reply with quote

You don't need the straight-cut gears, unless you like the extra noise...