Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

914 Newbie here.
Forum Index -> Porsche - 911/912/914 Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
drdiesel871
Samba Member

PostPosted: Thu Feb 16, 2017 9:16 pm    Post subject: 914 Newbie here. Reply with quote

Hi everyone, new to the forum and building a 1976 Porsche 914 engine for a buddy.

Definitely a learning experience, I am a fulltime diesel mechanic and have build a lot of truck engines and a handfull of motorcycle engine. The air cooled thing is a new chapter for me.

My question is, What is the orange strip seal around the oil seperator plate called/sold as? I am having a really hard time finding a listing for it. The one I got out was old and brittle so it needs to be replaced. I expected it to come in the gasket kit, but no such luck.

Thanks in advance! Travis
raygreenwood
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri Feb 17, 2017 5:58 am    Post subject: Re: 914 Newbie here. Reply with quote

drdiesel871 wrote:
Hi everyone, new to the forum and building a 1976 Porsche 914 engine for a buddy.

Definitely a learning experience, I am a fulltime diesel mechanic and have build a lot of truck engines and a handfull of motorcycle engine. The air cooled thing is a new chapter for me.

My question is, What is the orange strip seal around the oil seperator plate called/sold as? I am having a really hard time finding a listing for it. The one I got out was old and brittle so it needs to be replaced. I expected it to come in the gasket kit, but no such luck.

Thanks in advance! Travis

Its the windage tray seal. It is made of silicone.

In a pinch you can use high temp silicone tubing...split lengthwise and held on with one of the Permatex Ultra oil proof silicone RtV....like Utra black or ultra copper.

You can get them here: