Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

"Blue" '72 Square build from a newbie.
Page: 1, 2, 3 ... 22, 23, 24  Next
Jump to:
Forum Index -> Type 3 Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
KollynnBlackpaw
Samba Member

PostPosted: Thu Mar 16, 2017 4:00 pm    Post subject: "Blue" '72 Square build from a newbie. Reply with quote

Heya everyone! This is Blue, my "running" 1972 Square. He's got quite a few problems, rust, and is generally a pain. He leaks into the passenger's floor when it rains, his fender is rusty, and boatloads of problems I'll list below. But he's mine and I love him.

Image may have been reduced in size. Click image to view fullscreen.

I'm still really quite new to automotive mechanics and wanted to start with a bug, which I did but he's a pretty big project to do alone in the rain. So I went a little smaller for something that drives, stops, and wasn't awful on the pocket.

I bought him around November and December, and it's been raining and snowing since. Thanks, Oregon.

Issues!

- Rain leaks to the front passenger floor, and into driver's side door map pocket.
- Badly rusted rear passenger floor.
- Seats are torn to shreds.
- Leaks oil a bit worse than "marking his territory."
- Brakes ran out of fluid, now needs bled.
- Rusty hood.
- Needs oil change.
- Rusted fender.
- Will probably need new tires sooner than later.
~ Parking brake originally didn't work, was an easy fix.
~ Had no plates.
~ Cylinder missfires or doesn't at all. Most likely the nasty spark plugs.
~ Crappy dash pad, will probably just do a delete.
~ Battery decided to die.

And some other minor misc stuff. But all around, he sorta kinda works! The lights and whatnot all work, the gas pedal, clutch and shifting... just not the brakes.