Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

A Drunk Driver Killed My Syncro
Page: 1, 2  Next
Forum Index -> Vanagon Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
BenjaminCA
Samba Member

PostPosted: Mon Mar 27, 2017 9:05 am    Post subject: A Drunk Driver Killed My Syncro Reply with quote

Ugh. Yesterday at approximately 0400 I get a call on my cell phone from one of my co-workers (I am a CHP Officer). He tells me he is sorry to wake me and he needs me to come outside right now. I quickly got up and rushed to the front door. As soon as I opened the door my heart sank, my Syncro was no longer parked where I left it. A new vehicle was parked in my front yard, a beater Mazda Tribute.

Image may have been reduced in size. Click image to view fullscreen.

Actually the Mazda was parked in my front yard now. My van was pushed across the street. I could see from my front door the damage was bad. Considering it was fixed not too long ago and brought back from a previous collision. The custom bumper and front end compartment was crushed to the wheel well. Cracked the right front rim when it was pushed into the curb. Busted the rear tire carrier away from the bracket and swung the spare into the body. Dislodged the front windshield cracking it and bending the metal. After all of this, I was still able to start the van and rive it back to its original spot. The tire rubbing on where the floorboard is now. Stout little bus.

I soon found out the driver had foot bailed following the collision and was picked up by another CHP unit down the street. Driver admitted to taking "Norco's" and "Smoking a lot of weed" prior to the collision. Driver also noted he had no insurance. Awesome.