Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts  See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Sanchius and Tuna ride again...
Page: 1, 2, 3 ... 21, 22, 23  Next
Jump to:
Forum Index -> Vanagon Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
The Carrot
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri Mar 20, 2020 1:27 pm    Post subject: Re: Sanchius and Tuna ride again... Reply with quote

Here is a link to an upgraded alt. Adjuster. Toothed bolt sold separately.

https://www.buslab.com/product-p/025903251.htm
sanchius
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri Mar 20, 2020 1:18 pm    Post subject: Re: Sanchius and Tuna ride again... Reply with quote

A few weeks ago I split the WBX case and it was clear that #2 rod had stretched.
The big end was 1.5mm out of round, the rod/crank bearing was completely gone and the crank journal was galled and damaged.
I'm no expert, but I don't think that'll polish out.
I think I'm going to need a new crank

Image may have been reduced in size. Click image to view fullscreen.

Luckily my brother had secured a free donor WBX from a conversion for me in his garage in San Francisco.
All I had to do was make the 4-hr drive from Reno to SFO to get it.

Easier said than done.
The first open weekend coincided with a big storm on Donner Pass; no go.
Then a busy week at work; no go.
Then another big storm dropped an additional 44" of snow on the pass; no go.

Finally, there was a clear 3-day window to get into the city and retrieve the donor WBX engine.

Of course, that day turned out to be the first day of the Bay Area's big COVID19 lockdown.
Both wanting to responsibly respect the intent of the lockdown and to avoid getting trapped in CA in case things really got bad and they closed the state borders, I resisted the urge to make a high-speed run in & out of the city to grab the donor engine.