Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts  See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com
 
Adjusting Motometer oil pressure switch
Forum Index -> Vintage Speed Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Print View
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Peter_N
Samba Member


Joined: February 19, 2014
Posts: 159
Location: The Netherlands
Peter_N is offline 

PostPosted: Fri Apr 14, 2017 6:26 am    Post subject: Adjusting Motometer oil pressure switch Reply with quote

Hi All,

I found out the oil pressure switch on my 36hp was leaking so I bought a new one. At closer inspection there's a tiny screw in both of them.
After some searching on thesamba I could only find an ad, saying this kind of switch is a period performance part with adjustable pressure cutoff value.
Image may have been reduced in size. Click image to view fullscreen.


At first I didn't measure any cicuit on the new one so I thought it was broken.
But with some tweaking of the screw I can sometimes get a reading. When I turn it slightly it brakes the circuit again.
Does anyone know what measurement I should get (ohms?) for a standard 36hp? Or should is always give a reading?
Image may have been reduced in size. Click image to view fullscreen.

Thanks! Any help is appreciated
_________________
My 1958 PGSG project topic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Gallery Classifieds Feedback
Eric&Barb
Samba Member


Joined: September 19, 2004
Posts: 17082
Location: Olympia Wash Rinse & Repeat
Eric&Barb is offline 

PostPosted: Mon Apr 17, 2017 8:45 pm    Post subject: Re: Adjusting Motometer oil pressure switch Reply with quote

That type of switch should be just an on/off, nothing in between.
_________________
In Stereo, Where Available!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Gallery Classifieds Feedback
Peter_N
Samba Member


Joined: February 19, 2014
Posts: 159
Location: The Netherlands
Peter_N is offline 

PostPosted: Wed Apr 19, 2017 12:19 am    Post subject: Re: Adjusting Motometer oil pressure switch Reply with quote

Thanks for your feedback.
I've asked for another one from the seller and he'll send me one free of charge.
Hopefully that one is functional and leak free, otherways I'll go the repop route.
_________________
My 1958 PGSG project topic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Gallery Classifieds Feedback
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Forum Index -> Vintage Speed All times are Mountain Standard Time/Pacific Daylight Savings Time
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

About | Help! | Advertise | Donate | Premium Membership | Privacy/Terms of Use | Contact Us | Site Map
Copyright © 1996-2016, Everett Barnes. All Rights Reserved.
Not affiliated with or sponsored by Volkswagen of America | Forum powered by phpBB