Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Brake Booster replaced, now drag?
Forum Index -> Eurovan Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
ARMc
Samba Member

PostPosted: Thu May 04, 2017 3:26 pm    Post subject: Brake Booster replaced, now drag? Reply with quote

Hello, I'm new to eurovans and need some expert advice. I recently picked up an 02 MV and the first order of business was to replace the hissing brake booster. I did the job with relative ease. I didn't disconnect any brake lines but just moved the master cylinder enough out of the way to squeak the booster by. The new booster is a reman ATE from Cardone.

The problem is that there seems to be a slight actuation of the brakes while the pedal is at rest. I can feel the resistance of the brakes in acceleration and while coasting to a stop. So I figured there must be an adjuster somewhere right? There is seemingly no adjuster on the actuator rod. And no adjuster on the other end that attaches to the brake pedal. I took the master cylinder back off and measured everything and it appears that the rod inside the booster is about 1/8" longer than it needs to be to just meet the cup inside the master cylinder, so that when the two components are mated together the booster is actuating the master cylinder by 1/8". I don't know if this is normal or not.

The big black vacuum line cracked at the elbow that feeds into the booster in the process of replacement, which I remedied with black electrical tape and zip ties for the time being. Anyone have a PN or source for this hose? Could this be the culprit?
jjvincent
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri May 05, 2017 7:23 am    Post subject: Re: Brake Booster replaced, now drag? Reply with quote

Something is not right. I'd get another booster then.
BUGSTUFF
Samba Member