Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

1974 Convertible intro to the forum
Page: 1, 2, 3  Next
Forum Index -> Ghia Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
VUUKGEE
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue May 16, 2017 9:06 am    Post subject: 1974 Convertible intro to the forum Reply with quote

Hello to all!

This is my '74 Ghia, I picked her up a few months ago in a very drivable condition. Since I'm an old wrench that has never tackled VW's before, I'm hoping to do some work on her and get some advice along the way from all the nice folks on the forum.

So, a little background: as I mentioned I'm an old shadetree mechanic mostly having experience with motorcycles (love my shovelheads). I do own old trucks, jeeps, and other toys. My biggest weakness: I fall in love with my projects and never seem to be able to let them go (yes, I'm one of those guys).

A few years back, I acquired a 1967 Ghia Convertible (my brother and I named him "Lil' Bastard", I love James Dean) with the intention of working on him. Sadly, my dad took ill and I became the primary care giver so many projects had to be put on hold. One thing led to another and I wrapped Lil' Bastard up and tucked him away safely in a corner of the shop.

Fast forward to the present: I saw an ad for a convertible on CL and got curious. I know that once I work on Lil' Bastard it would be month's if not years before I can fully enjoy him, so I decided to try and pick something up that is ready to enjoy now with some minimal work. I saw this little girl and liked her immediately (of course, she's a ragtop). I picked her up and trailered her home.

I named this one Lil' Bi*** (I'm not sure I can spell that out, so maybe I'll just refer to her as LB on the forum) so, here she is: