Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Hello, New here
Page: 1, 2  Next
Forum Index -> Type 3 Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
paxhc
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2017 3:37 pm    Post subject: Hello, New here Reply with quote

I am not new to vw's but i am new to aircooled. I found a 1970 fastback that was buried in a barn since 1985 so i brought it home. I have no idea what i'm going to do with it yet but here she is.

Image may have been reduced in size. Click image to view fullscreen.

KTPhil Premium Member
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2017 3:58 pm    Post subject: Re: Hello, New here Reply with quote

Welcome! Best place for Type 3 info here.

I know one thing you will do with it... replace the heater channels and nearby outer sheet metal. That rust under the doors will need serious attention with a welder. The silver lining on that cloud is that the rest of the body looks pretty good... I don't see rust at the bottom of the A-pillar or at the middle of the C-pillar.
paxhc
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2017 4:02 pm    Post subject: Re: Hello, New here Reply with quote

I don't have room in the garage right now so i can't really tear into it but the rockers are the worst part i've come across so far. first thing i have to do is go through some of my old vw keys and see if any will work in the ignition lol
KTPhil Premium Member
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2017 6:14 pm    Post subject: Re: Hello, New here Reply with quote

Once the rust is addressed, you will want to find all the missing parts. Best source is the Samba classifieds, or for new rubber and other parts, you can't beat ISPwest.
paxhc
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2017 6:18 pm    Post subject: Re: Hello, New here Reply with quote