Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

A few trans problems
Forum Index -> Beetle - Late Model/Super - 1968-up Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
xThundergoat
Samba Member

PostPosted: Thu Jun 22, 2017 11:41 pm    Post subject: A few trans problems Reply with quote

Replaced my clutch recently after a broken clutch fork led to me stranded for a couple hours. Since then I've noticed a few problems. I don't think they're actually related to the clutch replacement but figured it was worth mentioning

1. Grinding hard when shifting into reverse. This only happens after driving. If it's my first time starting the car that day then it shifts clean but after making it to work it grinds hard then slams into reverse.

2. First gear is giving me trouble when trying to shift in. Usually have to give it a real good push to get into gear. Thinking about replacing shift rod bushing soon and seeing if that helps.

3. This just started today and only happened twice. Shifter popped out of second gear as soon as I touched the clutch. Also potential bushing issue? I've had this happen on long trips with fourth gear before. Read that it could be worn synchro ring teeth.

Any suggestions? Thanks in advance.
rockerarm
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri Jun 23, 2017 6:16 am    Post subject: Re: A few trans problems Reply with quote

Hi and WELCOME.
Are these new symptoms since the repair?
What other parts did you replace when you had the motor out?
The first two concerns sound as if the clutch isn't disconnecting the engine from the trans. Why not with the engine off verify if it goes into reverse and/or 1st gear then start car up with clutch depressed. This is for diagnostic purposes only. Then report back. Do you have sufficient clutch cable free-play?