Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

1960 11 Window Restoration - "Walter"
Page: 1, 2, 3  Next
Forum Index -> Split Bus Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
vrsenator065
Samba Member

PostPosted: Wed Jun 28, 2017 6:32 pm    Post subject: 1960 11 Window Restoration - "Walter" Reply with quote

Hi All, I am pretty new to the VW world, and only just joined this forum. I was reading some of the other very cool builds on here so thought I might post mine up too. I am in Australia.

I have just finished a 3 year more muscle car orientated build, but my wife and I are the proud owners of what we believe is a June 1960 11 window split. I have been half looking for another project for a year or so . A panel beater mate of mine found this out the side of one of another workshop and the deal was done for $500 which I was really happy with.

What is there is actually pretty sound, unfortunately it was used as a donor car and the front floors and front have been hacked around. Its also missing the front doors, side cargo doors and rear engine hatch.

My plan is to restore it externally sympathetically, with two tone paint, but uprate it all mechanically to bring it up to more modern standards of drive-ability and use it for us to both do some touring in. I am thinking most likely a scat motor or similar, IRS conversion, air bag suspension, disc brakes etc. With my last car I did everything except body/paint, this one I want to attempt to do it all myself. I am not after concours, but something that holds its own, looks cool and is fun to tour in.

Image may have been reduced in size. Click image to view fullscreen.

vrsenator065
Samba Member

PostPosted: Wed Jun 28, 2017 6:34 pm    Post subject: Re: 1960 11 Window Restoration - "Walter" Reply with quote