Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Tins for Buggy
Forum Index -> Kit Car/Fiberglass Buggy/356 Replica Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
wilsonsk
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sun Jul 16, 2017 6:04 pm    Post subject: Tins for Buggy Reply with quote

I got 4 blower housings and 4 cylinder tins with my basket case buggy, I don't know if I have the the right ones and I am new to the air cooled VWs. What do I need for tins for a dune buggy?

Thanks,

Steve
YDBD
Samba Member

PostPosted: Mon Jul 17, 2017 6:46 pm    Post subject: Re: Tins for Buggy Reply with quote

Cylinder cover tins, fan shroud and the little baffle tins that go above the pushrods between the cylinders (very important and can be exchanged with "cool tins" that are larger and wrap the cylinder underneath)

That should keep it running at a good temp.
'64 baja
'60 dune buggy
'73 Personenkraftwagen Type 182 "Thing"
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Gallery Classifieds Feedback
wilsonsk
Samba Member

PostPosted: Mon Jul 17, 2017 7:11 pm    Post subject: Re: Tins for Buggy Reply with quote

What about a thermostat? I have a couple of good sets of flappers that move freely, but no thermostats.
manxdavid
Samba Member

Location: David Jones, Anglesey, North Wales, UK. Manxclub #678.

PostPosted: Tue Aug 01, 2017 7:52 am    Post subject: Re: Tins for Buggy Reply with quote

wilsonsk wrote:
What about a thermostat? I have a couple of good sets of flappers that move freely, but no thermostats.

Just wire them open.
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Gallery Classifieds Feedback
ALB
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue Aug 01, 2017 9:29 am    Post subject: Re: Tins for Buggy Reply with quote