Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Clutch Chatter and Oil Leaks - no bowden tube?
Forum Index -> HBB Off-Road Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
degrafex
Samba Member

PostPosted: Mon Aug 07, 2017 8:26 pm    Post subject: Clutch Chatter and Oil Leaks - no bowden tube? Reply with quote

Hey all!
Sandrail novice here who is trying to sort some issues out.

-Clutch chatter when starting off in 1st.
-Leaking rear main seal in engine
-Leaking transmission main output shaft seal
-Very sloppy feeling shifter and can be difficult to find gears at times.

So I haven't driven this in a few years, and when I put it away it had a nasty clutch chatter issue in addition to dropping a bit of oil when parked. Being a novice mechanic, I asked around a bit and I was told that the oil was probably getting on the clutch and causing slipping... makes sense.

This year I decided to start working towards making this sweet machine a summer daily driver. Remembering my conversations, I bought a new clutch kit and a new rear main seal. Read up on here, watched some YouTube videos, all seemed to go well. When I got the car running and driving, after about 5 miles I started getting a pretty bad chatter again when starting off in first. When its engaged, its fine but while letting it out at any kind of aggressive rate it's a bucking bronco! I then notice some small oil drips from the same spot when parked.

Upon further inspection the square bolt on the shift linkage coupler was backed out. After tightening that, its a touch easier to find gears but is still sloppy and not precise at all. I'm assuming I can open this up and replace a bushing to get this feeling better? Any advice on what to look for?