Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Opinions Wanted-Which years?
Page: 1, 2  Next
Forum Index -> Bay Window Bus Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
JackStraw72
Samba Member

PostPosted: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:13 am    Post subject: Opinions Wanted-Which years? Reply with quote

My family and I want a bus for roadtrips/family vacations. I've been doing research, reading books, and online research. I am trying to figure out what years I should be looking at. We would like a Westy...we know that. Simplicity and reliability are the goals. I am realistic, I get that breakdowns are inevitable, but being able to fix and get back on the road is expected.

A little background, I am not new to vintage vehicles. I have had many, but I am new to VW's. So far my research has brought me to the following:

I am thinking 1972-1974, because of the simplicity, bigger engine (a little at least), and disc brakes. It seems like staying away from the newer models with fuel injection might be good as it complicates things. Or does it? Again, I have no experience with VW fuel injection.

Fuel injection?
Dual Carbs vs. Single carb?
Any years I should stay away from?

I look forward to your expert input and opinions.
Thanks for your time!
pioneer1
Samba Member

PostPosted: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:20 am    Post subject: Re: Opinions Wanted-Which years? Reply with quote

Family?- go with the 74-79 with the actual bed up above

'85 Porsche 911 Targa

'76 Westfalia project
jtauxe Premium Member
Samba Member

PostPosted: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:49 am    Post subject: Re: Opinions Wanted-Which years? Reply with quote

Since you are asking for opinions...

The Berlin layout for the Westfalia camper is the best. No cabinet in front of the door, penthouse bed up top. Those were 1976-1979.