Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

What would you change about the design/engineering of a Beetle?
Page: 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Forum Index -> Beetle - Late Model/Super - 1968-up Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Chris913653
Samba Member

PostPosted: Wed Aug 23, 2017 3:43 am    Post subject: What would you change about the design/engineering of a Beetle? Reply with quote

This topic pops into my mind from time to time and although I am by no means an engineer, nor even a qualified mechanic, I like to think about the possibilities of giving a beetle body and pan to an engineer, and seeing what they do to bring it up to date....

I think what I would try maybe is a type 3 flat engine up front( keeping it an ACVW), driving the rear wheels through a rear mounted transmission, rear fuel tank, so you could still have a small boot / trunk up front and one in the rear...
I'd also have more modern suspension at least upfront, to cope with the weight and a nicer ride.

The benefits of this in my mind would be a more stable ride at highway speeds given the extra weight at the front, you could also possible move the rear seats back an inch or two for better legroom..

I don't know, just a thought.

Some inspiration:

Image may have been reduced in size. Click image to view fullscreen.

Zundfolge1432 Premium Member
Samba Member

PostPosted: Wed Aug 23, 2017 4:10 am    Post subject: Re: What would you change about the design/engineering of a Beetle? Reply with quote