Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Wish me luck! Suggestions welcome.
Page: 1, 2  Next
Forum Index -> Type 3 Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
grnerd
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue Sep 12, 2017 10:35 am    Post subject: Wish me luck! Suggestions welcome. Reply with quote

I have been having trouble keeping the fan bolt tight on my 69 Square, which has cause issues with my generator, and the flywheel (?) eventually starts rattling. Decided that I am going to try and pull the engine to fix it, and I have never done that before. My first worry is getting the rear end up high enough to get it out. I have a set of ramps, as well as a low profile jack and stands. I figure once the engine is loose, if there is not enough clearance, I can get some help lifting the rear end by hand to get it out from underneath.

Since I will have it out, I will spend the winter tearing it apart and cleaning/repairing anything I can. This will be my first foray into engine work, so if you all have any suggestions for things to look for and improvements that can be made while the engine is out, I would appreciate hearing them.
KTPhil Premium Member
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue Sep 12, 2017 10:39 am    Post subject: Re: Wish me luck! Suggestions welcome. Reply with quote

That fan/pulley bolt is torqued much higher than for a Bug. Some manuals are incorrect. You need 90+ ft-lbs for a Type 3.

The pulley bolt will not affect the flywheel in any way.

Lots of threads about getting the engine out. Now I use an ATV jack and a homemade adapter. But for years I just lowered it side to side with wood blocks onto a sheet of 1/4" plywood, then dragged the works out.

Last edited by KTPhil on Tue Sep 12, 2017 3:32 pm; edited 1 time in total
Mike Fisher
Samba Member