Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

2.0L air-cooled engine rebuild?
Forum Index -> Vanagon Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
blemvanagon
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sat Sep 16, 2017 4:17 pm    Post subject: 2.0L air-cooled engine rebuild? Reply with quote

Hello i'm new to the Vanagon world and aircooled engines in general and wanted to know what you guys thought about my vans motor. I recently bought a 1980 Vanagon 2.0l air-cooled.

previous owner said the engine started spitting oil out of the exhaust pipe on a trip he had taken and had a big loss of power so it was towed home a year ago and left until i picked it up two weeks ago.

I started it up when i got it home and it ran but was very loud and pretty smokey as well but help an idle just fine. i did a compression test and it had low but not out of specification compression on two cylinders.The low cylinders were at 115 and 111psi. the other two were at 145psi. I then did a wet compression test on the low cylinders and the compression shot up to around 150 so i'm thinking piston rings are bad. I removed the engine and am about to start taking it apart. what else do you think i should check as i'm taking it apart and what parts would you recommend to replace along the way? thanks, any kind of info is greatly appreciated! Laughing
Wildthings
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sat Sep 16, 2017 5:10 pm    Post subject: Re: 2.0L air-cooled engine rebuild? Reply with quote

You should post on the Bay Forum as this is essentially the same engine as used in a 1972-79 Bay Window Transporter.