Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Syncro Oil Pressure Sensors - Out of ideas...
Forum Index -> Vanagon Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
MKAkland
Samba Member

PostPosted: Wed Nov 22, 2017 6:23 pm    Post subject: Syncro Oil Pressure Sensors - Out of ideas... Reply with quote

Hey there van humans!

I have an 86 Syncro with lots of problems, its pretty great... but this latest issue has got me scratching my head. I'm no professional mechanic, just a van aficionado that pretends to be.... just as a disclaimer.

Yes, I used the search... and this seems to be a unique problem.

I recently replaced my printed circuit board behind my cluster with the Gowesty upgrade (its pretty slick, I gotta say) but after finishing the installation, my oil pressure light and alarm go off. The following morning I changed my oil to 20W50, put on a new Mann oil filter, and nothing changed.

Specifically: the oil light comes on once I start the engine, and stays on. Once I reach ~2200 RPMs, the audible alarm rings.

I unplugged the (low) oil pressure switch's wire and grounded it, and the light on my dash still did not go out. (Thats how you test if the wire is good, right?) As far as I can tell, the sensor wires (that are visible in the engine bay and behind the dash) are not corroded or broken in any way.

The plot thickens....

So I'm driving around the block for a test drive, the oil light is on... I pull up to a stop sign, slightly lug the engine on accident for a second as I hit the brake... and the oil light goes out!! I hit the clutch in excitement, and the light turns back on.... damn.

I've found out that if I feather the clutch when in a high gear, I can intentionally make the light go out, but it comes back on once I get into a normal gear/push the clutch in all the way.