Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Baja Frame head help - Extend & Caster?
Forum Index -> HBB Off-Road Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
thevarmit
Samba Member

PostPosted: Thu Jan 04, 2018 8:42 am    Post subject: Baja Frame head help - Extend & Caster? Reply with quote

Hi there - Building a baja in the UK and struggling as I am new to VWs.

The car started as a rust free 1303 and I have converted the pan to a proper frame head.

I have just recieved this kit in the post:

http://www.dansperformanceparts.com/off-road/off-r...t-1sr.html

Unfortunately we did not realise that there were two types of beam suspension when the project started and have fitted a ball joint head instead of a link pin head! Shocked I now have the correct head and am about to begin cutting it up again when I have finished swearing at it! Brick wall

Question My question is - Should I extend the frame head by 1.5 inches to match the extended trailing arms while I have the chance before it gets tied into the cage? This doesn't seem common with most builds unless the arms are much longer but it might make sense while I have the chance??
Also - how much caster would you guys recommend for this set up - I am looking at running a 35'' wheel max. Or should I leave it stock and shim it afterwards?

Thanks in advance for any help. We run a fab shop over here so making anything isn't a problem - just the lack of VW knowledge! Cheers.
oldschool5er
Samba Member

PostPosted: Thu Jan 04, 2018 9:12 am    Post subject: Re: BAJA FRAME HEAD HELP - Extend & Caster? Reply with quote