Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Flywheel 0-ring
Page: 1, 2  Next
Forum Index -> Beetle - 1958-1967 Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
rockisland
Samba Member

PostPosted: Wed Jan 10, 2018 1:41 pm    Post subject: Flywheel 0-ring Reply with quote

Was wondering if my 1964, 1200cc, 6 volt flywheel needs an O-ring. There is not one in it. It appear there is a ring in there but it is metal and made into the flywheel itself. I know I need a rear seal and it seems to have a paper type gasket. I read where there are O-rings for flywheels but I don't think I need one. Would appreciate it if someone would let me know. I am kind of new at this and I want to learn.

Thanks
glutamodo Premium Member
The Android

PostPosted: Wed Jan 10, 2018 2:05 pm    Post subject: Re: Flywheel 0-ring Reply with quote

Early flywheel/cranks were stepped and used a paper or metal gasket. It was during model year 1966 that both were changed to the O-ring style.

Image may have been reduced in size. Click image to view fullscreen.

IMAGE NOTE: It has been noted that Chrome based browsers may have issues in displaying my vast image library, which use non-secure links and are on an FTP server. Images should still be viewable if the link is clicked though.
I do not know how to fix this. All I can say is it all works fine for me with what I use, Firefox.
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Gallery Classifieds Feedback
rockisland
Samba Member

PostPosted: Wed Jan 10, 2018 2:10 pm    Post subject: Re: Flywheel 0-ring Reply with quote

Thanks for the information. Mine is a step style. Thanks for you help.
Mr. Mike Premium Member
Samba Member

PostPosted: Wed Jan 10, 2018 2:16 pm    Post subject: Re: Flywheel 0-ring Reply with quote

Hello There,