Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Porsha guy newb to VWs needs advice
Page: 1, 2, 3  Next
Forum Index -> Performance/Engines/Transmissions Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
rodeking
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri Jan 12, 2018 5:20 pm    Post subject: Porsha guy newb to VWs needs advice Reply with quote

Hello,
I've been lurking here for a few months, just getting around to a 1st post. I've been doing this stuff as a hobby for 40+ years but new to these neat little engines, always had a soft spot for them. Anyway I picked up a double cab a couple years ago from a guy a couple miles from me. It has an AE stamped AS41 1600DP. Compression was 95 on 1-3, 70 on #4 (ex was at .001 and it has a leak at cyl/head.) Crank end float was .013. It is a really nice std case and I intend on using it as is, no line bore, #2 saddle is 2.5605 max, 1-3 all 2.559. Thrust saddle is .875. Crank is also really nice std/std, will also use as is with a polish. All journals are a few tenths over low std. TIR on #2 is .0003. Oil press. was 35 idle, 50 max.

It had a flat cam stamped C20, all the lifters are dished.

Oil pump was a 19mm, isn't 21 mm correct?

Heads are a 113 101 375A with the step cut and a 311 101 375. I haven't cc'd them or disassembled but I can't find any cracks.

Carb is stock 34 PICT3, I couldn't get the thing to idle w/o backing the fixed idle jet out 1/4.

DVDA with retard disconnected and set at 7.5 static.

I should probably just rebuild as stock but since I can't leave anything alone here is my plan:

thick wall 88 slip-ins
CB 2280 cheater
Brazilian stock lifters, stock rockers
Schadek 26 mm or 21mm?
rebuilt stock heads
shoot for 8:1 CR with .050 deck
rebuild 34 PICT, don't want doubles.
rebuild DVDA
street header with quiet pack single