Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

carb headache
Forum Index -> Beetle - Split-Window/1938-53 VWs Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
horse1944
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue Jan 16, 2018 3:48 pm    Post subject: carb headache Reply with quote

I hope this is in the correct listing if not I apoligize
I have a 1943 kubel with a 53-54 engine it was running good until last fall when I found a crack in the 28 pci carb which wasnt repairable so i purchased a rebilt 28 and rebilt the fuel pump while i was at it..here comes the fun part now i have a slight hesitation when opening the throttle and on a rare occasion it wants to pop back through the carb it idles smooth and if you slowly open the throttle no issues ..i checked the timing its good...fuel pressure is good ...Im new to vw's so Im needing help any would be greatly appreciated
Thanks in advance
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Gallery Classifieds Feedback
mandraks
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue Jan 16, 2018 7:41 pm    Post subject: Re: carb headache Reply with quote

the first thing i would check if it hesitates when you open the throttle quickly is the little accelerator tube in the carb. Take the airfilter off and see if fuel squirts in there, might need a mirror to see.

Uli

----------------------------------------
'53 3-Fold Oval, L35 Metallic Blue, looking for a narrow hatch panel
DDub
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue Jan 16, 2018 8:39 pm    Post subject: Re: carb headache Reply with quote

How long has the gas been sitting? Is it fresh?
KTPhil Premium Member
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue Jan 16, 2018 8:47 pm    Post subject: Re: carb headache Reply with quote

A few things to consider: