Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Never Owned a Bug, so I bought 3!
Forum Index -> Beetle - Late Model/Super - 1968-up Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Bill T.
Samba Member

PostPosted: Wed Feb 14, 2018 7:48 pm    Post subject: Never Owned a Bug, so I bought 3! Reply with quote

Hello, and welcome to my virtual insanity tour! Last summer I was given a 78 Super Beetle convertible. It had been sitting for many, many years so it has many, many significant issues. Biggest being horribly rusted pans. Next biggest being no wiring (AZ pack rats had been living in it and ate 80% of the wiring).

I'm no novice to cars, but I've never owned a VW, so I started w the basics. Engine, tansmission, brakes, suspension, etc. Well, since everything about restoring an old car snowballs into the nether regions of Kris Kringle's undies, I pulled the motor and tranny. They were so coated in gunk, I couldn't even find engine codes. Eventually I found out that I have the correct block (AJ series for an 78!Super) but it was retrofitted w a single carb. NBD, carbs are great. But upon further inspection, I realized that pretty much everything needed to be cleaned, inspected, repaired, or replaced if I was ever going to get the Super back on the road. The motor turns over great and has compression, but I wouldn't trust it without more information.

The tranny I sent out for a cleaning and a complete re-seal.

I started looking around for engine options and met a guy who knew a guy with "a VW engine". Skip ahead 6 months and I am now the owner of 3 VW's, 3 motors, 6 transmissions and more parts and pieces than I could ever want. I had to buy it all or nothin and I wanted the engine.

The motor is a SCAT 1918cc w a street cam and an EMPI carb. Should be a lot of fun!!