Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Stinger 4424 on Turbo EJ25/STI Vanagon
Forum Index -> Performance/Engines/Transmissions Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
gtiplive
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue Feb 20, 2018 6:00 pm    Post subject: Stinger 4424 on Turbo EJ25/STI Vanagon Reply with quote

Hey Everyone,

I'm new to the wonderful world of Westy's and I've recently swapped into my Vanagon a EJ25 w/ turbo and Stinger 4424 ECU. I live in Texas and I had the engine built in Alpine, CA. Unfortunately, on it's maiden voyage home the engine began running terrible the more I ascended into higher elevations and by the time I reached Utah, it couldn't even idle.

Luckily, I could still start it and it ran just as long as I kept my foot on the accelerator. So, I made it to Grand Junction where I found an awesome Subaru machine shop that had a dyno and, judging from the sexy gazllion-HP Subaru race machine in the their shop, exceptional experience tuning performance engines. They kept my van for a few days and re-tuned the Stinger on the dyno. When I got it back, it ran noticeably better (and with better MPG), but when I got further into the mountains it started acting up again...not as bad as it would idle, mostly, but not perfectly.

Long story short, it doesn't idle well at all at elevations above ~2500' max. and now back in Texas at nearly 700', it idles just great, but smells very lean and sputters before the boost kicks in. I can't find anyone in Austin that's willing to even look at it.

So, any suggestions? I can download the software and work on it myself (zero knowledge), but not clear where to start. Does anyone have experience with the Stinger ECU's and their "manifold pressure sensor" to see if it's malfunctioning? Any help is VERY VERY appreciated.
gtiplive