Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Home Built Project Beetle (Full video build)
Page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
Forum Index -> Beetle - Late Model/Super - 1968-up Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Home Built by Jeff
Samba Member

PostPosted: Wed Feb 28, 2018 2:08 pm    Post subject: Home Built Project Beetle (Full video build) Reply with quote

Hey guys,

I am new to the beetle world, but I have been busy restoring an old 911 for the past couple of years, so that sort of counts. I have just recently ventured into the world of Beetles and I have picked up a surprisingly rust free '71 Super.

I have a YouTube channel as an outlet for my love of restoring classic cars, and I am really excited to get stuck into this new project. I am only new to the Beetle world so I am keen for any advice you guys can give me.

Anyway, here is my first video to give you an intro to the car.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gCpUFBxuRv0
Tim Donahoe
Samba Member

PostPosted: Wed Feb 28, 2018 3:11 pm    Post subject: Re: Home Built Project Beetle (Full video build) Reply with quote

Jeff, congratulations on the new project. Not too shabby, really.

Check out the sticky’s in this forum. Beetle builds and such. There will be a host of teachings there for you.

The ticking in the back is hopefully only a cv joint. If not, a wheel bearing, but not as likely. I’m thinking cv.

The rust at the door pillar might be from the drain at the bottom of the sill. Stuff gets into the “dark hole” from inside the trunk and plugs it up. After taking off the running board, you’ll see the drain area just in front of the pillar.
Clean it out or it’ll happen again.

For exterior, Marina Blue and white (or cream) would look nice. Marina is a kind of sky blue VW color. It would go well with a cream interior.