Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Turbocharger drainback video
Forum Index -> Vanagon Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Christopher Schimke
Samba Member

PostPosted: Wed Mar 14, 2018 7:53 am    Post subject: Turbocharger drainback video Reply with quote

Fast Forward posted thsi video on their FB page, but it answered a question that I always wondered about - If the oil line going into the turbo has oil pressure going to it from the engine, how can the drain line angle be so critical? Shouldn't the oil pressure simply push the oil right on through? Turns out the answer is...no!

I'm not a turbo expert, but I assume most/many turbochargers are built like the one in the video (with a "piston ring" in the "oil seal holder"). If that is the case, this video clearly shows why it is so important to get the turbo clocked properly and to have a large drain line with plenty of angle for the oil to drain freely back to the oil pan.

Link

*Custom wheel hardware for Audi/VW, Porsche and Mercedes wheels - Urethane Suspension Bushings*
T3Technique.com or contact me at [email protected]

Last edited by Christopher Schimke on Wed Mar 14, 2018 8:13 am; edited 1 time in total
Escorial Syncro
Samba Member

PostPosted: Wed Mar 14, 2018 8:00 am    Post subject: Re: Turbocharger drainback video Reply with quote

Wow, that's an eye-opener. Amazing how sensitive that seal is to any kind of back pressure! I guess on our crazy rigs you clock it at 12 o'clock and try to keep crank case pressure system in top working order. An hope for best, of course.

Thanks for posting Chris
1974 Honda CL360 Scrambler (for sale!)
Christopher Schimke
Samba Member

PostPosted: Wed Mar 14, 2018 5:32 pm    Post subject: Re: Turbocharger drainback video Reply with quote