Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Starter Always Runs after Install on 78 Bus?
Forum Index -> Bay Window Bus Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
sanitarymuffin
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2018 4:26 pm    Post subject: Starter Always Runs after Install on 78 Bus? Reply with quote

Hi folks,

Newly registered, though lurking since July when I bought my 1978 bus.

I have pulled the old starter from our bus, and replaced it with model SR87. Now, upon reconnecting the battery cables the starter immediately begins to turn. I've disconnected the ignition switch wire, though the problem still remains.

I'm a not-so-mechanically inclined software engineer by trade, so this has been a good learning experience. I've consulted our factory manual, this forum, Google, and Youtube though so far haven't come across anything definitive.

Is it possible there's a junk solenoid on the new starter? Based on my understanding, the wire going to the ignition switch completes the circuit which gives the starter the juice it needs.

Any other things I might be overlooking?
SGKent Premium Member
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2018 4:50 pm    Post subject: Re: Starter Always Runs after Install on 78 Bus? Reply with quote

Quote:
s it possible there's a junk solenoid on the new starter?

yes. The only way you could screw it up is if you put the battery cable on the same post as the strap going to the starter itself. The battery cable goes on the post that does not have the braid to it.