Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Total Newbie Question - gas smell
Forum Index -> Beetle - Late Model/Super - 1968-up Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
gingerbug
Samba Member

PostPosted: Thu Apr 19, 2018 4:48 pm    Post subject: Total Newbie Question - gas smell Reply with quote

I've had my bug '74 (reg) for 2 weeks. I park it in my driveway and whenever I walk by it smells REALLY of gas. Like it's evaporating from somewhere. It's not leaking anywhere so I am confused - is this normal?

thanks for your patience!
webbracing03
Samba Member

PostPosted: Thu Apr 19, 2018 4:54 pm    Post subject: Re: Total Newbie Question - gas smell Reply with quote

First I’d check the lines going to the filler neck my bug leaked threw them. Best practice to replacement then if they r dry cracked anyway so when your driving and the gas splashed your not getting fumes. Second thing I would check it the vapor recovery lines that go to that canister on the passenger side fender well. Worst comes to worse I could have a leak somewhere under the hood it will dry up before it leaves a puddle so I’d check rubber lines. If u don’t find it there chase metal lines threw the tunnel. Also can canister under my pass rear fender that connects to the fan shroud. Possible gauge sending unit gasket to. Just my 2 cents lol... hope it helps. May also be the smell of aging German insolation soaked with oil gas and the lives of past owners.
Zundfolge1432 Premium Member
Samba Member

PostPosted: Thu Apr 19, 2018 4:58 pm    Post subject: Re: Total Newbie Question - gas smell Reply with quote