Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Trustworthy vw repair
Page: 1, 2  Next
Forum Index -> Thing/Type 181 Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Look at my Thing
Samba Member

PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2018 8:20 pm    Post subject: Trustworthy vw repair Reply with quote

I am new to air-cooled and I just made a trade for a very nice THING that's been sitting in a climate controlled garage for 15 years I drove it onto the trailer and around my yard but it was very hard to keep running and so I changed the oil the plugs the wires the cap the rotor deleted the points with a petronix I adjusted the valves and the distributor was loose and moved and so I've had issues trying to set the timing because it has a mechanical advance no vacuum I cleaned out the carb and put in a new fuel filter but now it will barley stay running if it even starts at all. I have spent every minute of my time after work on it for a solid week now and I am getting to a point that it is about to defeat me. I need someone that knows these engines to help me I need a shop or someone I can trust I am in Bastrop TEXAS if anyone knows anyone it would be awesome
74 Thing
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2018 7:39 am    Post subject: Re: Trustworthy vw repair Reply with quote

Post a photo of the engine compartment.

It is ignition related you need to look at the ignition components you just replaced, make sure they are installed properly, and set your timing correctly.
doublecanister
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2018 10:31 am    Post subject: Re: Trustworthy vw repair Reply with quote

Yeah I saw another post you mentioned chatting with the Captain about this...
but...

Just to mention one other thing it could be is the carb.
Could be the wires out of firing order and a handful of other things.