Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

My first VW; 1973 Super Beetle
Forum Index -> Beetle - Late Model/Super - 1968-up Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
spectre1995
Samba Member

PostPosted: Thu May 10, 2018 11:38 am    Post subject: My first VW; 1973 Super Beetle Reply with quote

Hey everyone, I'm happy to say I've acquired my first VW Bug. I've wanted one since I was a little kid (I'm 23 now) and was finally able to locate one at an exceptional price. I paid $650 for this Super Beetle that's been sitting for a bit, but is largely intact. It's going to be a very fun and rewarding restoration project that will eventually be my daily driver.

I'm an auto tech student at my local community college, right in the middle of restoring a 1969 Mercury Cougar in which I'm doing a full engine rebuild as a part of the course curriculum.

I've been working on getting the bug to turn over, but have so far been unsuccessful. Yesterday I had a fuel filter get clogged, causing a line to back up and burst. I'm fully aware of VW's having the tendency to become a fireball on wheels, so I'm replacing all the rubber fuel line and filters just to be safe. I'm lucky to have a VW parts store in my vicinity (IPC Volkswagen Parts) and bought a five foot length of cloth braid covered fuel line.

I had a few questions;