Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Alternator upgrade
Forum Index -> Beetle - Late Model/Super - 1968-up Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
#1jess
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2018 12:22 pm    Post subject: Alternator upgrade Reply with quote

Hello vw family. I have a 68 bug , I'm going to upgrade from generator to alternator, and I would like to know if anyone can recommend a reliable alternator. I'm going to be installing a sound system, 1,000 watt amp and a air compressor for air ride. I'm new to vw's. Thank you.
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger Classifieds Feedback
Wayne S. Johnson
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2018 12:56 pm    Post subject: Re: Alternator upgrade Reply with quote

You may need a bigger car.

Image may have been reduced in size. Click image to view fullscreen.

View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Gallery Classifieds Feedback
#1jess
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2018 2:47 pm    Post subject: Re: Alternator upgrade Reply with quote

Thank you sir
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger Classifieds Feedback
mukluk
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2018 3:23 pm    Post subject: Re: Alternator upgrade Reply with quote

At full output your amplifier will be consuming right around 80 amps. Add on the amp draw of your air ride compressor plus roughly 20-25 amps for normal engine and lighting requirements for a stock car to figure out how large of an alternator you'll need to keep the battery from depleting with everything up and running. Just a rough estimate, but I'd say you're looking at something right around 125 amps to cover peak draw -- a figure you're not very likely to see often or for much of a time period anyway.