Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

VIN on title doesn't match the pan. Problem?
Page: 1, 2  Next
Forum Index -> Beetle - 1958-1967 Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
ChinookFE
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2018 7:36 am    Post subject: VIN on title doesn't match the pan. Problem? Reply with quote

Hey all, I'm new to the VW game and have some questions.

For some background, About 6 years ago I bought a basket case Bug from a friend of mine for $500. It's in rough shape but I figured I'd give rebuilding it a shot. Shortly after I bought it, I ended up overseas for work for two years and it got parked in a field at my sisters house. This last weekend, I FINALLY dragged it back down to my house in Alabama to start tearing into it.

Last night I looked at the "VIN" on the pan and noticed it wasn't the same as on the title. The title has the car listed as a 1962, with a VIN of 4032105, but the number on the pan is 11754101(6,8, or B. Can't really read the last digit) which looks like it is from a car built in Jan 1967 if I'm reading VIN charts correctly.

-Will this cause any problems with the DMV and the title?
-Where could the number that is on the title have come from?
-What year is this thing?
-Is it possible or necessary to change the VIN on a title?
-Is this going to be too much of a hassle to deal with?
Sharp64
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2018 8:08 am    Post subject: Re: VIN on title doesn't match the pan. Problem? Reply with quote

Post pics. The pan is definitely a 67 but the body could be later. What does the vin on it say? Posting pictures of the body will help determine the year. Front, side, rear, dash shots will work best. Body vin is in the trunk behind the spare tire.