Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Epoxy primer is lifting.
Forum Index -> Body/Paint Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Onceler
Samba Member

PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2018 6:55 am    Post subject: Re: Epoxy primer is lifting. Reply with quote

Im not a pro either, but i have used ospho (a similar acid) under epoxy, however I always let it dry overnight, then wipe down with wax and grease remover (i just use vm&p naptha from the hardware store).
jspbtown
Samba Member

PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2018 6:41 am    Post subject: Re: Epoxy primer is lifting. Reply with quote

Let me first start off by saying I am NOT a professional. But I have painted several cars and panels.

That being said....I always like using straight alcohol as my final wipe down before paint. I use the preps all to get rid of the grease and/or silicone and then use the alcohol right before the paint. I seem to get better results this way. Might just be me...who knows.

I assume you are also wearing latex gloves?
Teeroy Premium Member
Samba Member

PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2018 10:57 pm    Post subject: Re: Epoxy primer is lifting. Reply with quote

Check the data sheets on the epoxy you are using. Some are not compatible with etch or etch primers and will lift or peel.
ARR #3
www.autosportsnorthwest.org
Chris333
Samba Member

PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2018 7:17 pm    Post subject: Re: Epoxy primer is lifting. Reply with quote

What do you guys suggest for the wipe down before spraying?

Is the preps all good enough?
Chris333
Samba Member

PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2018 3:29 pm    Post subject: Re: Epoxy primer is lifting. Reply with quote

Today I sanded down the whole front clip from door to door. I found a few spots that didn't stick.