Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Installing new headlights without high beams?
Forum Index -> Kit Car/Fiberglass Buggy/356 Replica Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Smileybuggy
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri Jul 13, 2018 6:48 am    Post subject: Installing new headlights without high beams? Reply with quote

So I'm new at this but I have a 69 dune buggy manx replica and I'm trying to install new headlights. New headlights came with 3 wires, my hook up only has 2. I'm assuming the wires on the new one are for high beam, low beam and ground. My buggy doesn't have any switch for high beams, it just has a toggle switch for the current headlights, which don't laugh, but they are tractor headlights... PO put them on just to get lights on it quickly.. Anyways, I'm assuming that since there are only 2 wires, the one missing is for the high beams? So, I don't really care if I have high beams, can I hook these up and have them work without using that 3rd wire. And if so, what do I do with that 3rd wire? Im not the best at wiring so I don't want to get into adding high beams just yet.
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Gallery Classifieds Feedback
Dale M.
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri Jul 13, 2018 7:48 am    Post subject: Re: Installing new headlights without high beams? Reply with quote

Not sure of tractor lights (not DOT approved/street legal) ... But yes you can make them work....

Image may have been reduced in size. Click image to view fullscreen.

This would be somewhat typical of headlight circuit that generally works for high/low operation...

First thing I would do is be sure the two wires are not the high and low wires and ground is missing....

Typical of back of sealed beam headlight...

Dale

"Kellison Sand Piper Roadster" For Street & Show.