Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

New to the Forum
Forum Index -> General/Chat Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
MudDub
Samba Member

PostPosted: Mon Jul 16, 2018 12:28 pm    Post subject: New to the Forum Reply with quote

Hey everyone,
I am new to VWs and the forum, my friend currently owns 2 VWs and over the years has gotten me to like them after helping him work on his. I am 15 years old and my dad and I would love to buy a project car to fix up together, however, unfortunately we have gone through financial hardships for a long time. We are, however, going to acquire a small sum of money from my grandfather's estate after his passing in June. It is not a lot, but it should be enough for a beat up VW. I am excited to be part of this forum and community after seeing how friendly VW people are from always seeing my friend browse the forum. I am planning on getting a baja bug or a sand rail. I hope to learn a lot from you and be able to complete my off-roader while being part of a community like this!
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Gallery Classifieds Feedback
TDCTDI
Samba Advocatus Diaboli

PostPosted: Mon Jul 16, 2018 2:04 pm    Post subject: Re: New to the Forum Reply with quote

Welcome to The Samba!

Sand rails are great, for about three to four weeks out of the year due to weather, a Baja bug would be a better choice. Seeing that you are in CT, DEFINITELY learn what to avoid rustwise, whether it be floors, heater channels, or even the '71-on "death foam". Work with your friend on his cars & get to know these cars before jumping too far in.

GOFUNDYOURSELF, quit asking everyone to do it for you!

An air cooled VW will make you a hoarder.

Do something, anything, to your project every day, and you will eventually complete it.
MudDub