Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Help with possible purchase
Forum Index -> Kit Car/Fiberglass Buggy/356 Replica Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Bwic415
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri Jul 27, 2018 1:19 pm    Post subject: Help with possible purchase Reply with quote

Hey everyone, new to the forum and happy to have found a solid place for information. I'm currently looking at purchasing my first buggy. I've found a manx-style buggy that the owner explained was completely rebuilt over a period of a few years. From the pictures it looks to be solid. I'm working on arranging to check it out in person. I was hoping for some advice on what to check for. I have some decent mechanical knowledge and background, but I'm new to the world of VW. What are some things I should pay attention to? Regarding the VW front and rear suspension, besides ride quality, how can I determine if they are in good shape, or able to be adjusted?

Additionally, if anyone has some input on registering and insuring the buggy in NY state, I would appreciate it. As I understand the car is currently registered as a 1963 VW and I can register it as the same using the previous owners signed transferable registration. What about insurance?

I really am thankful for any help, I did read over the previous buggy buyer guide post, but was hoping for any other suggestions.
Gary0302
Samba Member

PostPosted: Mon Jul 30, 2018 6:50 am    Post subject: Re: Help with possible purchase Reply with quote

Hi there,