Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

71 bus --2 alternator belts in 50 miles
Page: 1, 2, 3  Next
Forum Index -> Bay Window Bus Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
grapedaddy
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sun Jul 29, 2018 9:28 am    Post subject: 71 bus --2 alternator belts in 50 miles Reply with quote

I just picked it up from a shop in Wytheville VA USA where my 2003 VW of Mexico long block purchased in 2005 was installed. My fan belt twisted off 2 times on the way home and I changed it along the side of I81 and it is about to come off again. By my crude measurements using a string and a lead sinker the pulley alignment looks good, but I am far from an expert. This is a new problem to me, but I've read several posts covering this subject. I have the Bentley. I"m stumped. Note the engine had an Bosch alternator conversion in the 90's. The alternator was replaced last year with a Brazilian Bosch. The fan belts I"m using are Contenental Contitech 11,3x912. I"m sure the angles are not optimum in the pictures because I'm wrangling an iPad around inside the engine compartment. Do you see anything I can't see?

Note that I"ve already seen the fuel filter in the engine compartment on the high pressure side.

Image may have been reduced in size. Click image to view fullscreen.

2003 Westfalia "Tourmaline" (sold)
2021 MB Metris Getaway “TheDarkSide”

Last edited by grapedaddy on Sun Jul 29, 2018 9:31 am; edited 1 time in total
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Gallery Classifieds Feedback
SGKent Premium Member
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sun Jul 29, 2018 9:31 am    Post subject: Re: 71 bus --2 alternator belts in 50 miles Reply with quote