Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

72 ghia vert turnsignal indicator question
Forum Index -> Ghia Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
hasnfefr
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sat Aug 11, 2018 9:07 am    Post subject: 72 ghia vert turnsignal indicator question Reply with quote

So, I have been working to get this 72 ghia vert on the road. I'm new to air cooled vw's. My question for the community may seem dumb, but here it goes. The turn signals operate correctly on the outside of the car, but the indicators in the dash both light up and blink regardless of direction. Hazards work correctly outside and both indicator lights light up and blink as well. New turn signal switch, new hazard switch. I have looked at a schematic and it seems like that is how they designed it. Both bulbs have power from the same source (daisy chained) and both ground to the same location (unless I'm missing something). Is this how they are supposed to work? Your help is appreciated. If it was one indicator light I would understand, but there is a left and right.
Starbucket
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sat Aug 11, 2018 3:06 pm    Post subject: Re: 72 ghia vert turnsignal indicator question Reply with quote

Sounds like the speedo was replaced with a different year as my 70 only has one inside bulb for turn signal and they just wired them together.
hasnfefr
Samba Member

PostPosted: Mon Aug 13, 2018 6:13 pm    Post subject: Re: 72 ghia vert turnsignal indicator question Reply with quote

From what I can tell the 70 is completely different.
Starbucket
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue Aug 14, 2018 7:57 am    Post subject: Re: 72 ghia vert turnsignal indicator question Reply with quote