Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

'67 Beetle shudders / jerks and loses power
Forum Index -> Beetle - 1958-1967 Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
jml01
Samba Member

PostPosted: Mon Aug 13, 2018 4:15 pm    Post subject: '67 Beetle shudders / jerks and loses power Reply with quote

All-

I'm seeking the advice of this forum for an issue I'm having with my bug. I've only had the vehicle for a few months and I'm using it as my daily driver. I'm pretty new to VWs, but I'm quickly learning.

I posted about a problem I was having a while back about my clutch shuddering when I changed gears. The bug was running perfectly except for this, but I went ahead and decided to change the clutch. Well, when I did my first engine-pull to change the clutch and trans mount, I bent/broke the fuel line that goes through the firewall, and had to patch it up with what was left and some rubber fuel line. No problem, I suppose.

So while I was waiting on my new fuel line I noticed that when the engine got hot, the car would start to shudder a bit. I noticed the patched-up fuel line was resting on the exhaust and figured gas was heating up and that was the problem, so I quickly got the fuel line swapped out and figured that would be the end of it.

Since I changed out the fuel line, though, I've just run into more problems. It ran smoothly for a couple of days, but then I went on about a 45-minute long drive and towards the end it started cutting out really bad, popping/backfiring while I was accelerating and I was lucky to make it home. My wife claims this started after I hit a bump, but I was on the phone and didn't notice.