Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

JBugs or Wolfsburg West or ...?
Page: 1, 2  Next
Forum Index -> Beetle - Late Model/Super - 1968-up Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Freebirdbeachbum
Samba Member

PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2018 7:34 am    Post subject: JBugs or Wolfsburg West or ...? Reply with quote

I'm a newbie to VW restoration with a LOT of cosmetic parts to replace on my '71 convertible (pretty much everything) plus floor pans. Mechanically it's OK for now.

I would appreciate any feedback on these two suppliers or others as to which should be my go-to and for what category of parts (e.g. JBugs for seats covers but WW for seat foam).

Thanks,

Ken
sshulk
Samba Member

PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2018 7:40 am    Post subject: Re: JBugs or Wolfsburg West or ...? Reply with quote

For floor pans use WW. I believe they have the best quality because the metal gauge they use is thicker similar to the original
72 Super
60 Mango Ragtop Camper Bug Project Thread
63 Ragtop Project
73 Auto Westfalia
2056 Type 4 Engine Build Thread
Filthy Buggers
VW_Jimbo Premium Member
Samba Member

PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2018 8:44 am    Post subject: Re: JBugs or Wolfsburg West or ...? Reply with quote

I try and use my local supplier as much as possible. I am a small business owner and know how hard it is to keep a business going. That said, I believe that pricing must be fair, meaning I will pay up to 10% more at a store front for my parts, but the service ought to be better than what I can get on line.

Beyond that, they carry the same shit. WW actually goes beyond just being a middleman. They have direct suppliers manufacturing parts for them. So they are active.