Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Electrical help needed battery lead blows fuse
Page: 1, 2, 3  Next
Forum Index -> Beetle - Late Model/Super - 1968-up Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Maabus
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2018 9:00 am    Post subject: Electrical help needed battery lead blows fuse Reply with quote

Hi I'm new to the bug world, but so far it has been fun working on one, up until now. Crying or Very sad

I got a 68 bug for my son's first car, and are in the process of restoring it. The car ran fine but there are a few issues here and there. There were some electrical issues like the hazards coming on when putting on the left turn signal. I was going to try to figure out the electrical issues and fix just those but the wires were so old and grimy I couldn't tell what color most wires were, and the PO had some weird splicing done. I figured it would be better to just replace all of the wiring.

I got a complete wire kit, and got everything ran, and we hooked everything up. The PO had a 25A fuse on the wire that goes from the positive post on the battery to the B+ (I believe) on the voltage regulator. When I turned the ignition to the on position this fuse popped. I unplugged everything except for the wires at the voltage regulator, generator warning light, and ignition, but the fuse popped again, but this time I only had a 20A fuse. I tried one last time, but this time I disconnected the wire from the voltage regulator to the starter, and the fuse popped again.

I'm running out of things to disconnect, and I'm not sure what would cause this to fuse to blow with nothing connected.

I'm familiar with electrical equipment, but i'm not skilled so any help would be appreciated.

Thanks!
bluebus86
Banned