Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

'72 project bus for a complete newbie
Page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Forum Index -> Bay Window Bus Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Mirmathrax
Samba Member

PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2018 9:03 pm    Post subject: '72 project bus for a complete newbie Reply with quote

So...

I bought a '72 bus on EBAY "99%" complete. Here are a few pictures:

Image may have been reduced in size. Click image to view fullscreen.

Being 99% complete, of course, everything needs to be replaced. I'm new to this, so please bare with me. I have a few immediate questions as I have already started realizing that I know nothing.

The engine runs excellent according to the ad... but needs a muffler first, and the heat exchangers were sitting in the back of the bus... They are whole, but rusted pretty bad and I can hear shtuff clanking around inside when I shake them like a Christmas present. I can upload pictures as soon as I get them in daylight, and I am pretty sure I should just get new ones, but I don't know. How bad do they have to be before they need to be replaced?

Also, as I was under the bus, I noticed some cracks in the bottom piece that connects to the heat exchangers. I am unable to find the darn name for this part, it seems to be part of the fan shroud and exhaust system, but I can't find it on any of the usual sites for the life of me. Here are some pics.

Could somebody please enlighten me as to what this piece is and where to find replacements. Does it need replacement? The top is cracked too. Is this a major piece of the block? I know the top has the VIN stamped on it.

Thanks in advance for anyone kind enough to help me out. I look forward to asking way too many stupid questions here. Should I have posted this in the stupid questions thread?

Smile