Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Before I pull the dash (troubleshooting non-op blower fan)
Page: 1, 2  Next
Forum Index -> Vanagon Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
YosemiteBound
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue Sep 11, 2018 4:27 pm    Post subject: Before I pull the dash (troubleshooting non-op blower fan) Reply with quote

Hi folks,

Total newbie here. I finally sourced a dial to try my blower/heater out and it doesn't run... or turn on in any way or do anything. Perhaps this is why the PO removed the dial.

I'm assuming that the first thing I should do is check the fuse. Not pull the dash, right? Wink

Problem is that I have the bentley and i can't find a fuse diagram. there's a diagram for the 86+ - but not previous. I do see the 85 wiring diagram but not one of the fuse box itself. It just kinda says blower fan - 105. Which makes no sense to me. Also, there's no diagram in the manual either. And no mention. It does have a fuse arrangement by number but no mention of the blower fan here.

Anyway, just trying to find the location of the blower fan fuse. Thx for any help Smile

Also, do I need to remove the ground when changing fuses? Thanks!

God, pulling the dash is gonna suck so bad if the fan is dead.

And I promise I've read a ton of posts about the blower fan fuse. Just can't find any mention of where its location is (surely it's in the fuses to the left of the steering wheel but where?).

Is it fuse #10? windshield wiper/washer, blower? if my wipers work the fuse ain't blown, right?

Edit: Changed the thread title as post progressed. thx!
Image may have been reduced in size. Click image to view fullscreen.

Last edited by YosemiteBound on Thu Sep 13, 2018 8:23 pm; edited 1 time in total
shagginwagon83
Samba Member