Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Newly built 1776 engine idles rough
Forum Index -> Beetle - Late Model/Super - 1968-up Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Claydoh
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sat Sep 22, 2018 4:39 pm    Post subject: Newly built 1776 engine idles rough Reply with quote

Newly built 1776 engine. I’m experiencing an issue with rust within my fuel system. I’ve been banging my carb to get it running when it pitter patters out.

But I took it on the highway and after it’s been idling at a higher rpm. (Noticeably louder)But it drives alright other than the occasional rust blockage.

Also I’m in 15-20 degree hotter temps than normal

If anyone could let me know the order they recommend checking things in.

I’m a novice thanks
AlmostHeavenWV_VW Premium Member
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sat Sep 22, 2018 4:45 pm    Post subject: Re: Newly built 1776 engine idles rough Reply with quote

Let's start with basics:

Type and brand of carb?
Type and brand of distributor?
What's the timing set to?
What's the idle RPM readout on the tachometer?

A pic of the engine would be helpful too.

Also as an aside, if you have a known rust problem in the fuel system- you need to address that properly. Time to pull the tank, change filters, blow out metal lines with air, and replace metal and rubber lines as necessary.
Bosch DVDA 205AJ Distributor
VW_Jimbo Premium Member
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sat Sep 22, 2018 11:13 pm    Post subject: Re: Newly built 1776 engine idles rough Reply with quote

The rust is probably coming from the fuel tank. Why dont you replace the fuel tank or recoat it with the POR15 gas tank sealer. You will need to flush the gas line out as well.

Be careful working on gas tanks. No heat sources and no sparks.