Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

How hard is it to convert a classic Beetle to electric power?
Page: 1, 2  Next
Forum Index -> Beetle - Late Model/Super - 1968-up Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
antoinemayer
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2018 12:34 am    Post subject: How hard is it to convert a classic Beetle to electric power? Reply with quote

I saw a DIY kit to convert a classic Beetle to electric power. I have no to little knowledge in mechanics and electronics. My Beetle is a 1969 semi-automatic 11-1500.

The kit : http://www.evwest.com/catalog/product_info.php?cPath=40&products_id=167

As you know, automatic gearboxes are quite... unstable. Mine just broke down. Two options: spend $$$ on fixing it as automatic, spend $$ on converting it to manual or spend $$ on converting it to electric.

So there are two questions now:
1. Can you convert an automatic Beetle without a functioning gearbox to electric (or do you have to fix the gearbox first)?
2. How difficult / complex is it going to be for me to convert my 1969 VW Beetle (11-1500) to electric Power, given my lack of knowledge in the fields of mechanics and electronics?

Thanks in advance for your advice.
runamoc Premium Member
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2018 5:57 am    Post subject: Re: How hard is it to convert a classic Beetle to electric power? Reply with quote

the problem I've read is that all of the weight of the batteries is too much for the brakes. They will need to be upgraded to at least 'good' enough.
VW Wiring = It's just wires
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Gallery Classifieds Feedback
Q-Dog
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2018 6:57 am    Post subject: Re: How hard is it to convert a classic Beetle to electric power? Reply with quote